2021-2022 Bar & Gavel Society and SBA Awards

On April 26, 2022, Dean Anita Krug presented the annual “State of the Law School” address and Rana Salem presented awards to all of the new Bar & Gavel Society inductees and other SBA Award honorees.

Continue reading

SBA Awards Winners!!

Twelve members of Chicago-Kent’s Class of 2020 have been named to the Bar & Gavel Society.

Each year, Chicago-Kent inducts graduating 3Ls/4Ls into the society who have distinguished themselves through outstanding service to the law school, the community, and the legal profession. Please help SBA congratulate the following 2020 inductees:

Tatiana Alonso
Eva Dickey
Jamal Jackson
Alec Kraus
Gabriel Lara
Clare Lilek
Michael McGee
Cristina McNeiley
Bridget Murphy
Jamie Noonan
Bryant Roby
Alexander Stark

Additionally, the following individuals have been selected by students to be awarded for their outstanding dedication to Chicago-Kent:

Ralph Brill Award
Dean Stephen Sowle

Professor of the Year
Professor Jenifer Robbins

Staff Member of the Year
Emily Barney

Adjunct Professor of the Year
Professor Dawn Young

Alumni of the Year
Jason and Kristen Sposeep

Student Organization of the Year
Hispanic Latino Law Student Association

Bar & Gavel Society.pdf

SBA Awards.pdf

SBA Awards and Bar & Gavel Society Nominations!!

The Student Bar Association is seeking nominations for the SBA Awards and the Bar & Gavel Society. The award ceremony will be held Wednesday, April 29 and celebrates outstanding work and dedication to the law school.

1. The SBA Awards include the following awards:

  • Staff Member of the Year
  • Adjunct Professor of the Year
  • Professor of the Year
  • Alumna/Alumnus of the Year
  • Ralph Brill Award
  • This award may only be given to a staff member, faculty member or alumnus/alumna who has either: (a) been employed by Chicago-Kent for the last 10 years; OR (b) Graduated at least 10 years before the award is given and has shown exemplary service and accomplishments

Student Organization of the Year

2. Bar & Gavel Society

The Bar & Gavel Society is a prestigious society composed of graduating students (3Ls/4Ls) who have demonstrated leadership and service to the law school. These students do not have to be members of SBA. Up to 12 of the nominees will be admitted. Past recipients have distinguished themselves through outstanding service to the law school, peers, legal profession and community around them.

Know someone who deserves to be recognized through the SBA Awards or Bar & Gavel Society? Please submit your nominations toSofia Valdivia at svaldivia with the subject line “Nomination for SBA Awards.”

Nominations MUST:
(1) State the reasons for the nomination
(2) Not exceed 250 words
(3) May include a resume (but not required)
(4) are DUE Friday, March 27 at 5:00 pm

We look forward to receiving your nominations! Additionally, don’t forget to save the date for the award ceremony!